What Are The Different Stages Of Grief?

There is a range of views on the different stages of grief.

In their book ‘On Grief & Grieving’, authors Elisabeth Kubler-Ross and David Kessler define five different stages of grief as follows:

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

Here, they define these five different stages as part of the framework that makes up our learning to live with the one we lost’. Rather than being a linear step-by-step process, they act as an outline to help identify the emotions being experienced.

With this in mind, each stage can encompass other stages unique to your own life experiences and set of circumstances.

For example, between the stages of Bargaining and Depression, there can be a period of Reflection, where you seek time alone to gain perspective on what has happened and how it fits into the broader narrative of your life.

Similarly, between the stages of Depression and Acceptance, there can be an ‘upward turn’, period of growth, where new found hope can begin to manifest as you witness life moving on around you.

By maintaining a healthy daily routine, the different stages of grief can be experienced in a way most natural to you.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Widowsorwidowers.com Newsletter

Sign Up to the Widowsorwidowers.com Newsletter today to receive regular updates to help uplift and inspire!
Email address
Secure and Spam free...